Three routes through the Ministry of Amateurs

Hi guys,

Hope everyone is managing to have some kind of break.

I’ve been working on some drawings that I discussed in my last tutorial and I’d really appreciate your feedback about them and where I should go next. The purpose of doing these drawings was to move away from the plan I had drawn for a while and to go back to my original ideas of exploring new forms of spatial production that does not depend upon efficiency and embraces amateurism. This involved reminding myself of my vocabulary of spaces that I have developed. I have explored three routes through my project through perspective drawings – route 1   route 2   route 3. These do not necessarily work in terms of a building (eg. where routes overlap they do not work together, stairs wouldn’t meet building regs etc) they were more meant to have an Alice in Wonderland style – playing with feelings of scale, overlapping routes, secret routes and spaces that feel like another world. They explore sequences through the building and what’s above you, next to you, how light enters, materials etc.  Amateurism is full of contradictions, some people are highly enthusiastic and passionate and become obsessed with things whereas others have a go at things and then leave them unfinished. I am trying to translate this into both the architecture and drawing style. So some elements of the drawing are left unfinished and some are rendered quite precisely.  

This has helped me move away from the rigidity of my plan & to make decisions about the types of spaces that are much more in keeping with the ethos of my project. I think I am now going to analyse the perspectives and attempt to rationalise them into a more precise building. I was thinking of doing this with a combination of section, plan and models. Does anyone have any suggestions about how I should be drawing it?

Thanks.

Comments
One Response to “Three routes through the Ministry of Amateurs”
  1. Sam Brown says:

    Hi Beth! Work looks great…I think its been a really successful way to explore the aspects of your project that perhaps got lost in the plan. Your right – the trick now is to define those elements precisely and capture their essence in a new plan. Dont rule out a further iteration of this process – you might lose some aspects again, but they can be resurrected through a second wave of – perhaps more precise – collages.

    As regards drawing – Im intrigued by the observation that some amateurs pursue their hobby to obsession, whilst others leave things unfinished. Perhaps areas of your drawings should be very intricate – both in terms of drawng style, and spatial / material arrangement – whilst others remain very plain. Im imagining ornate, decadent detailing and finishing in some areas, (like Islamic patterns, or CAD/CAM made parts based on mathematical algorithms (computer programming, experimentation with CAD/CAM, code-breaking…and even maths are notably pursued by amateurs). In others, things might be very very plain – rough finished cottage plaster, simple sealed screed or unfired clay floor – something that looks like the decorators just never turned up (see Room13, an art classroom by Mitchell Taylor Workshop at a school in Bristol).

    Hope thats of use!

    Sam

Leave a Reply

